top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

Cheer

Updated: Nov 4, 2022

By Leila Carbonel, Staff Writer | September 28, 2022

Next Gen Lady Colts


Recently, our Carson High Cheer team held try-outs for incoming freshmen and other interested grade levels too. The cheer coach, Ms. Benitez, welcomed all those that were interested in becoming a part of the team and encouraged everyone to join.


Ms. Benitez is in in her second year as a Spanish teacher here at Carson High School; after school, she dedicates her time to helping cheer.


Ms. Benitez always seems to be happy to help the team and likes coaching, especially because she was once a cheerleader herself.


“I connected with some of the girls, and I think they have the potential to be amazing. So, I enjoy being a coach for them. So, yeah I'm back,” exclaimed Ms. Benitez.


As a sports fan, Ms. Benitez finds particular enjoyment when working with this group of talented students.


Ms. Benitez said, “I loved being at the games, you know, football [and] competitions, all [of] that. I definitely did say that I would be interested in being a coach when applied.”


Earlier this month, Ms. Benitez held a second tryout and the majority of those who participated were freshmen.


“The freshmen that tried out were so spirited and had so much energy. I'm excited for them to start cheering with us soon. [My] advice would be to just take advice from the other girls that have been [here], connect with them. I think that they'll be good role models.”


The team has never failed to pump up the crowd, even when our team is down thanks to strong coaches like Ms. Benitez and the hard work put in by our lovely cheer team.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020-2023 by The CHS Trailblazer. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page