top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

A Club That’s Making a Difference

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

by Vivianna Ambriz // Staff Writer

The club that has been very successful within these past years would be the Filipino Club. Last year when this club had a school supply drive, they asked their fellow classmates to donate supplies so that they would be able to take it to the students in the Philippines who don’t have the resources we have here. The club also participated in the Walkathon (a five day walk) and asked for donations, and they were able to raise about $250. The club donated the money to Mindanao (Salapuna, a school in the Philippines).

The club’s Cultural Officer, Angelica Tan, a senior at Carson High School stated, “I just want to say thank you to the members for their time and being dedicated to the club. We just hope it will continue for many years to come.”

President of the club, CHS senior Diane Mediano stated, “I joined the club because I’m Filipino myself, and I want to learn more. As the president, I want to share all the Filipino culture I’ve known over the past years.”

The Filipino Club meets every Thursday at lunch in room C6. The club wants to recognize the club’s advisor Ms. J by thanking her for supporting the club.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page