top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

A Long and Lasting Love…

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

by Sarahmae Espinosa // Staff Writer

As the “month of love” comes around, Ms. Hart shares a very endearing story that correlates with true love.

Ms. Hart shares, “I met my first love back in 1983. I didn’t date when I was in high school, I started dating when I was in college. This man was a soldier (Air Force) stationed in Guam. I met him at a KFC drive through, where I worked as a cashier. We ran out of chicken so as part of customer service, I asked if he wanted anything while waiting. He replied “no”, so I closed the window and he then knocked on it and said ‘I know what I want’ and I was like ‘What’ and he said ‘Can I have your phone number’ and I told him I didn’t have a phone so he gave me his number. After I gave his order to him and he drove off, I threw his number away.

The following week, he came back again and said ‘Why didn’t you call me?’ and I told him I lost the number, he claimed I probably threw it away and so he gave his number again, this time I put it in my uniform pocket. When I got home that night, his number fell out of my pocket as I was changing and I thought I better call him to get him off my back. I thought it would be a short conversation, but we talked for four hours. He asked me to the movies and asked not to stand him up. I sat in my car waiting and it was almost time for the movie to start and I thought, wow he stood me up. As I was starting to turn the ignition in my car, I heard my name being called and I turned to see a very tall man standing there and he opened my door. Since we only saw each other at the drive-thru, we never realize our height difference. He apologized, and said that he went to the wrong movie theatre.

In Guam, we can watch two movies, so we got out at midnight and there was only a few places open to eat, so we went to Mcdonalds, I drove since I still didn’t trust him. We ate, and then as we were about to leave and it was pouring rain and we were stuck for 2 hours.

I left Guam in 1983 to come to California and he came to visit me in 1984 on his way to his next post, Italy. That was the last time I saw him.

Years passed and on my birthday I received flowers and I thought it from my husband and when I started to page my husband, I looked at the card and I stopped because my husband always uses Conroy’s flowers and the card says “Happy birthday from the one who loves you” and I was thinking, it had to be my husband, since everyone already sent me flowers and my husband’s flowers haven’t came yet. So I was going to thank the person who sent it to me and I called the florist shop and they said I would know who it is, but I didn’t and asked for at least the state [Illinois] and I thought ‘I only know one person who lives in Illinois.’ We lost connection, but he knew where I worked.

So since 1983, we were on & off with our communication. We only took two pictures together, and of course I no longer have my copies, but he recently found one picture of us together and he emailed it to me!

This is undying love and friendship and I do love my husband, but this is my first love, which you never forget. He asked why I never pursued him back then and I said, ‘I believed in fairy tales. I wanted my prince to come get me. Plus I watched the movie, “ Officer and gentleman” It was a military movie and it showed that many women would follow the soldier, so they would have a good chance to marry them, but most of the time they get left. I figured he should come and get me, because I wasn’t chasing men.

First love never dies and the most important thing about any relationship is communication. As you grow older, everything changes; looks, attitude, health but if you can communicate with your partner, who listens and can converse, that’s all that matters because you’ll have good conversation all your life with your partner and what else are you going to do but talk?

Friends and even his family questions why we never got together. We did have the right love, but at the wrong time.

“Love and Friendship is one of the best things to have and when you love someone, time and distance has no bound.”

As true as this story is, Ms. Hart believes that good friendship and communication matters the most.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page