top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

A Night to Remember

Updated: Oct 16, 2020

by Nova Gallegos // Staff Writer

Carson High School’s Girls Volleyball team ended their season with an exciting match against Narbonne High School on October 7, 2019, which happened to be their senior night as well. It is always a tough game against Narbonne. With CHS winning 2 sets and Narbonne winning 2 as well, they had one more set to win the game. Unfortunately CHS lost the 5th set 15 to 9. Although CHS had a tough lose, after the game their family, teammates, and coaches got to appreciate they by acknowledging them and all of their accomplishments.

Head coach Stephany Mahaley announced each senior one by one. As each senior got called, they received many gifts from their family and teammates. It got emotional for many seniors as they received their gifts.

“Senior night was really emotional for me because I knew some of them really well and everyone’s speeches about each other was just really sentimental,” said CHS sophomore Camila Gomez.

“It was emotional because I was really close to some of the seniors and now they’re leaving high school and going on to bigger and better opportunities in life,” CHS sophomore Annamaria Pinson.

The underclassmen look up to the seniors and consider them as their role models. They will be missed by many of them.

“I’m going to miss playing with all my friends and all the energy they gave while playing on the court, it was definitely a great experience in the program and the relationships I formed are one of a kind,” said Academy of Medical Arts senior Gayle Laccay. “I will miss the funny moments with this team. It was my first year playing with a lot of the girls this year on varsity and the bonds and memories that we were able to create this year were special, being a senior is surreal to me. Being on varsity my four years of high school, watching all of my past teammates graduate, it’s kind of a bittersweet moment that I’m the one leaving this year” said CHS senior Chai Howard.

The seniors made many friendships with their teammates and will miss playing with them. With the seniors leaving, the underclassmen have big shoes to fill next season.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page