top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

BSU/Natural Beauties

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

by Zakariah Robinson // Staff Writer

The Black Student Union is looking for some new members. As a reminder BSU is not only for the African-American students of Carson High. They welcome every race and ethnic backgrounds to come and have a voice. While addressing very racially sensitive topics going on around us instead of making you uncomfortable, it gives you a safe place to express your own personal feelings.

“I’ve been a member of BSU since the 9th grade and I love that I joined this club. I already loved being black, but after being a member I became even prouder to be who I am,” stated Carson High senior Dominique Payne. “Through BSU I’ve been able to learn a lot about my history that is left out of the history books. And it has inspired me to someday be able to spread the knowledge that I’ve learned about my roots to other black students.”

On another note, It’s never too late to let your peers know what you’re working with. The Natural Beauties club is hosting their annual fashion show. There will be catwalk tutorials by our very own Carson Colt teacher Ms.Kimble. They are looking for a makeup artist, hair stylist, fashion stylist, backstage help, and models. If you would like to be apart of the fashion show, join Natural Beauties every wednesday during lunch in G-4 or stop by Ms. Harris’ Room. Carson High senior Sarah Guei shared her own personal experience. “I’ve been a part of natural beauties for roughly 3 years and I extremely love being a part of the club. It helps build confidence within all individuals, and motivates others to seek beauty within rather than just your appearance…. I got to model at the fashion show for 3 years. The Natural Beauties club has given many opportunities to perform and model for non profitable organizations. Now that I am a senior and soon to be graduating Carson, I encourage many other students of all races and grade levels to join Natural beauties and build a strong foundation that will leave a positive impact on their life, like it did mine.”

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page