top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

National Poetry Month

Updated: Oct 16, 2020

By Cynthia Ortiz – Staff Writer

Each year, the month of April is recognized as being National Poetry Month, a time to raise awareness on the significance of poetry, as well as to appreciate poets and their art.

Carson High School junior, Damani Berry, who is somewhat of a hidden gem in the field of poetry, said “[Poetry is a] form a self expression. It’s my talent; it’s what I use to stand out from the crowd.”

Inspiration for poetry can be found anywhere and everywhere. From the simplest things, to personal struggles and life experiences. It can also be found in those you surround yourself with and spend time with regularly. Berry, for example, finds inspiration in his father.

“My dad inspires me. He’s a poet [as well] and I really enjoy his work,” said Berry.

Berry has also won numerous awards for his work, one of which was awarded by the Carson Complex library at one of their annual Poetry Slams. These Poetry Slams are in honor of National Poetry Month and are an excellent way for students of all grades and schools to exercise their skills in said field.

“It was surprising [when I won] because when I entered, I entered with my friends and was really the only one who thought I wasn’t going to win. But they kept pushing me and pushing me and I ended up winning; it was fun,” explained Berry.

Poetry as a whole can be immensely impactful. It is diverse and is a way for many people, both young and old, to form connections and places in which they can confide in. Celebrating Poetry Month is something that could be truly beneficial to us in the future. Who knows, maybe you’ll even discover you have a natural talent for it. If you are interested, the library’s annual Poetry Slam will be taking place April 30th.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page