top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

New California Governor

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

By Saramae Espinosa – Co-Technology Editor

Recently, California elected a new governor. Gavin Newsom is now the 49th Lieutenant Governor of California. Newsom was elected in 2010 and 2014 and was also mayor of San Francisco. He is in the democratic party. According to San Francisco Gate’s story, “Gavin Newsom’s legacy: bold ideas, mixed results,” by Heather Knight and John Coté, Newsom created a homeless program called “Care for Cash.” It also said, “Overall, 12,210 homeless people have been moved off the streets during Newsom’s tenure, and Newsom said their individual stories made up his best moments as mayor.” After weeks of being in office, Newsom was able to create a same-sex marriage chapel by using the city hall. “Newsom will be remembered decades from now, said just about everybody interviewed for this story, for his early advocacy of same-sex marriage,” Knight and Coté wrote. Academy of Medical Arts history teacher, Ms. Harger stated, “I feel as if it’s too early to tell if I’m satisfied with Gavin Newsom, he only took off his second week in January. I think he has good vision, I think that he understands the importance of education. It’s hard to know in the beginning whether someone is going to be able to take their vision and work through politics and make it real. I hope he changes the way we fund education so that we aren’t doing it in a crazy way of per pupil average daily attendance, and that we raise that; particularly in areas that are under surge right now. I think he handled the strike situation very well. He did the right thing in saying “If it gets to the point where I need to, then I will do something,” but it didn’t [get to that point]. So he didn’t have to clear any sort of emergency to interfere. To me, he clearly indicated that what the teachers were asking for was reasonable and that there would be ways to fund it. I just hope that he’s able to do all the things he wants to do. Our state is in good shape compared to the rest of the country and I hope that it stays that way.” “Up unto this point, I am satisfied with Gavin Newsom. I think he has good programs in terms of giving money to schools, I think his policies on medicare for all is good. I hope he starts getting California to spend more money on public education. Even after the strike, knowing that as a state, we spend very little on our students. I think it would be a good thing if he started some kind of medical system for every Californian,” added Ms. Ravelo, Academies of Education and Empowerment history teacher. Mr. Elmore, Carson High School history teacher concluded, “I think it’s too early to tell if I’m satisfied. From what I’ve seen in the beginning, I think he’s off to a decent start; he canceled the rail to nowhere today, which even got praised from both democrats and republicans. I’d like to see him fund education. I am not happy with the strike situation. The strikes in Oakland and Denver are spot on and I think that the strike was beneficial in some ways and not in others and I think that what it did was that it brought a higher profile to the union leadership who have aspirations beyond education. I support the union, but I think the leadership of the union was looking to get fame. Both the union leadership and the district leadership were left for wanting this.”

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page