top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

Paul Loza : NIFTY

Updated: Oct 16, 2020

by Trailblazer Staff

Carson High School senior Paul Loza won the NIFTY award: a business pitching competition in the Greater Los Angeles area. The NIFTY program is a good opportunity for kids who want to be entrepreneurs or pursue a business venture as a career. As a result of his achievements in the program, he obtained a check for 500 dollars. In total, by the end of the competition, he earned a whopping $1500.

Ms. Mertens, Business Management instructor at CHS describes NIFTY as being, “A Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship.”

“Paul showed potential and was already selling stuff online by himself,” said Mertens.

She also mentioned the pride that not only her but all of the Carson High Staff feels towards Paul and his achievements.

There were up to 3,000 students invited from LAUSD to participate in the contest and Loza was one of the few chosen ones who made it. There were an additional twenty kids who actually got chosen from Carson as well, but Paul’s success was the greatest of them all.

CHS principal Dr Warren said, “I am very proud of Paul for going threw the whole process especially during the summer time [as] he was working.”

Loza said, “It was fun and a great opportunity for me to learn. Plus, I got money out of it.”

Paul dreams of being a successful entrepreneur and feels that this competition was a great way to start his adventure in the entrepreneurial and business industries.

“The program opened my eyes to how many opportunities there are, and showed me what was required to be a successful entrepreneur…” Loza added. “I felt happy, surprised, and mad because when I pitched my business idea, I froze and forgot everything I was about to say. I had practiced so much [just] for me to get embarrassed. [Still,] I got on with it [and came] out with 100 dollars.”

The NIFTY program has given Loza the extra support, confidence and necessary skills that he needs to continue his growth as a young entrepreneur, not to mention a good bit of cash.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page