top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

Sailing to Catalina

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

by Ryan Bada // Technology and Advertising Editor

From January 26 to 28, Carson Complex seniors had the opportunity to attend the Catalina Island trip, or CIMI in short. At Catalina Island, 28 seniors were able to not only learn about marine biology and oceanography but was also able to do fun activities that are not found elsewhere.

Performing Arts and Media Academy senior Taelerr Washington listed all the activities that the students did over the weekend.

Taelerr stated, “We went hiking‒once at night where we look at the stars and learn some Greek mythology behind each star and once in the morning where we got up early to see the sunrise. We also went snorkeling‒during the afternoon and once at night‒where I got to see so many fish, including the Garibaldi [the state fish], sea lions, and sharks. And we went to labs where we learn about the environment around us, specifically the fishes, animals, and plankton and what they eat and their ecosystem.”

One of the coordinators and chaperones of the trip, Ms. Meni, talked about how Carson High was able to receive this great opportunity.

“When my daughter, Hunter, arrived at Carson High as a freshman, I proposed the Catalina trip to all three principals who gave their wholehearted approval. This year was the fourth year that I have taken Carson seniors to CIMI,” Ms. Meni stated.

 Surprisingly, this trip was almost cancelled due to a few reasons.

“The trip this year was nearly cancelled because we reserved 83 students which was the number of students that attended last year. Since we had 28 students, there were financial issues that had to be taken care of before we went. That is why it is important for us to have enough students sign up each year because we have to meet the number from the previous year,” Ms. Meni explained.

If the CIMI trip was cancelled, students wouldn’t have experienced this memorable trip. These students have made unforgettable moments with other students that will last a lifetime.

CHS senior Hunter Meni said, “Every moment of this trip was a favorite of mine that I will remember and cherish forever like when the girls pranked the boys and when we went night snorkeling and almost got attacked by sea lions. I got to do things that I might never do again and spend quality time with people I might never see again after graduation.”

Academy of Medical Arts senior Kelly Bruno said, “It was a new experience. I got to learn about myself from being able to open up more and connect with people I didn’t know. Since I’m usually a shy person, this trip has brought me out of my shell.”

CHS senior Juan De La Torre exclaimed, “It was lit! I didn’t know I would make so many friends at that trip. I expected to have a good time at the trip but it was better than what I expected, even when my friends didn’t attend this trip. Whether your friends come to the trip or not, you’ll have a great time at the Catalina trip.”

As one of the students that attended this trip, it was been an unexpected but exhilarating experience. The Catalina trip was a great opportunity to explore places that you never imagine; to experience new things that bring you out of your comfort zone; and to connect with people that you hardly or never knew before we go our separate ways to adulthood. Because of this, I encourage all underclassmen to attend the CIMI trip during their respective senior year.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page