top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

Seniors After High School Plans

Updated: Feb 22, 2023

By Brooklyn Collins, Features Editor | February 8, 2023


As the school year progresses, seniors are faced with important decisions about their future. They are realizing that their future and adult lives aren’t four years away anymore; they are right around the corner.


With the end of the school year approaching, our optimistic seniors are enthused about making what they believe are the right decisions for their future from enrolling into a community college, to enlisting in the military. These seniors are on the right paths to making their dream lives a reality.


They all told us about their paths after high school and why they decided to pursue them.


Briana Chap, Academies of Education and Empowerment

“I plan to go to a four year college. I have my eye on Long Beach, to become an athletic trainer…I wanted to be in the medical field at first, but I thought about all the school it takes so I started looking at ways to incorporate something I also like, like sports, so I put the two together.”


Dayani Tate, Academy of Medical Arts

“Probably going to an HBCU like FAMU or Alabama State. I feel like I would be more comfortable, instead of going to USC or other schools around here. I would be able to see more of me and my people.”


Diogo Gallegos, Academies of Education and Empowerment

“I plan on going to a two-year community college and transferring after, playing baseball [while] studying journalism or business and marketing. I have always been a social person, so I feel like being on TV, [working in] journalism, [and] talking with people. Ever since I was younger, I've always been a businessman with my side hustles and all of that. I could take that and make that something bigger.”


Michael Marin, Carson High School

“I plan on enrolling in a two-year community college, maybe El Camino or Long Beach [City] and then transferring…I recently chose to study psychology. I think it will be pretty easy; it's something that I am good at.”


Gilberto Mireles, Academies of Education and Empowerment

“I'm planning on attending Harbor College. I'm going to go to their trade school to become an electrician…I really don’t like school, so I would rather go for 2 years and still come out successful.”









16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page