top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

Srum, Ruck, Score!

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

by Rayona Brooks // Staff Writer

This year Carson High School has decided to add a new sport: Rugby. This is the first time CHS has had a Rugby. It has been a success because the girls won 3 championships so far.

Zonaye Tupola, a sophomore at CHS stated,“Winning the championship for the high school division and then taking both cups in Las Vegas internationals was an indescribable feeling. It just shows how much hard work we put in with our training 3 times a week and everyday practice for 3 hours as well. The past 3 seasons we came up short in Vegas, so this one meant a lot for me and my team.”

The rugby team has traveled very far to play against different teams such as New Zealand.

Ahnea Aupiu sophomore at Academy of Education and Empowerment added, “Playing against international teams was a challenge; they were all new faces to us so it was hard for us to determine their strengths and weaknesses. Beating the New Zealand team was such a blessing. This year we wanted to go home with a trophy, nonetheless, we came home with not only 1 but 2 trophies.”

Manaia Moala, CHS sophomore, added,“It was a humbling experience. We’ve fallen short for rugby for the past years, and we finally took it all. I found out that both championships (rugby and basketball) took place on the same weekend, so I had to make a choice on which one I wanted to do, but I really wanted to do both so my parents agreed on letting me do both. In regards to rugby, I was speechless and emotional, the best feeling of my life. I then came home for my basketball game in which we later became CIF division 1 champions. I put in a lot of work trying to balance my times with both sports, and I am so happy I chose both. COLT LOVE!!”

Siniva Mailo replied,“From personal training, to maintaining a 3.8 GPA, it took a lot of work and dedication. Everyone sees the success, but no one sees the grind behind the scenes. Winning these 3 championships was very rewarding. We played a total of 6 games in one day and were running back and forth from field to field trying to make both games with no time to rest. It was crazy, but we did it…We won it all.”

CHS senior and captian Brooklyn Vaifanua added,“First and foremost, I give all glory to God because without him all that we’ve done thus far wouldn’t be possible. But being honored at the city hall was truly a blessing. My team and I have worked so hard. Being a senior and a captain made everything more special and then being honored with 3 championships at the city hall was a bonus putting Carson back on the map.”

Our rugby team is something new this year, minus it being a rough sport, CHS supports them for working hard and staying dedicated. Way to go Rugby, continue your success in the years to come.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page