top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

Teachers who are Going Above and Beyond

Updated: Oct 16, 2020

by Ashleigh Almodiel // Entertainment Editor

Not all Heroes wear capes nor granted superpowers to save the world, like in T.V shows or movies, but the real Heroes are the shapers of our Future, individuals who do not give up on their students despite the deadly pandemic. The Coronavirus that took away students’ experiences of good education inside the classrooms.

The educators of Carson High School, Academies of Education and Empowerment, and Academy of Medical Arts signifies as the real saviors of the world as they wholeheartedly continued teaching with productivity as well as positively interacting with their students, through the use of digital education.

AMA teacher, Ms. Niki Engler said, “I teach six classes and have four different preps. I try to stay as organized as possible and stick to a schedule…I mainly use Schoology, Zoom, and Email to stay connected with my students. Specifically, I like to use the discussion board feature on Schoology [for students] to interact with each other and have online “discussions.” One example is our goal setting in my class. I love seeing how my students have adapted during this time and are still working hard to achieve the goals they set for themselves back in January…they are very supportive of their peers and the progress they have made!.”

AEE teacher Mr. Raphalone Mertens said, “Just like the majority of teachers on this campus, I teach six periods, but two sets of my classes are the same subject. This year I am teaching two Algebra 2 classes, one Honors Algebra 2 class, two Pre-Calculus classes, and I coach the boys’ volleyball team…Keeping in touch with students is crucial… I prefer to sparingly use phrases and slang common amongst the students…[but] I think that earning students’ trust and respect is the most important thing I can do as a teacher. I also infuse as much humor (corny jokes and all) as possible in the class. This is who I am – someone who LOVES Math and insists on having FUN while teaching it.”

Just like Ms. Niki Engler and Mr. Raphalone Mertens, several educators dedicate themselves to educating and supporting their students who need help. Both teachers are the best “HEROES” that we students should look up too, as they are Above and Beyond Extraordinary Teachers of our school.

Thank you to all teachers around Carson High School, Academies of Education and Empowerment, and Academy of Medical Arts, on their commitment to teaching. Our teacher superheroes influenced and encouraged us to do better, to be productive, to do well in school, and to be awesome.

Teachers are Above and Beyond Heroes, you continued spreading good education, despite this global pandemic. So, Teachers, Faculty, and Staff, as well as Principals and Counselors- You, are the best! YOU ALL ROCK! You have made a great impact on our lives, the inspiration that we need. Thank You!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page