top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

The Rivalry…

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

by Mark Tuufuli // Staff Writer

The rivalry between Banning High School and Carson High School runs deep and dates back to the early 1970’s and 1980’s when both school’s football programs were on the rise to becoming great. Since both schools were in cities so close to each other, players from both teams knew one another. To some, the rivalry means much more than a high school football game.

Mr. Ruiz or Coach “Goose” who is a history teacher at CHS and varsity offensive line coach stated, “The rivalry goes back to the old times, it’s about honor, respect, and bragging rights. These guys been our enemy since day one even when I played here. But for the game, I foresee Banning being emotional, being prepared, and being ready to face us, but I do believe we are going to come out on top.”

Coach Arnold Ale, head coach of Carson’s football program and a CHS varsity football alumni stated, “It was always about respect, it was never about hate because a lot of these kids you played against grew up in the same neighborhood. This game is important because it’s for second place Marine League, and it determines our placing seed for play-offs and which team we will play. I wasn’t at the game where Banning beat Carson last year, but as a Carson High alumni, I was disappointed to hear Banning broke the streak. But of course, we prepare every game the same as always, mentally and physically and this game [is] the beginning of a new streak.”

Carson High’s football program had a 16 year winning streak against Banning which started in 2001 until Banning finally broke the streak against Carson last year, 29-19.

Senior varsity football player and captain Jenson Misa’alefua of the Academies of Education and Empowerment, who played against Banning last year stated, “It was a good game last year, I just feel like we were out coached, we had talent, but they had more talent overall; they were just the better team that night. This rivalry means a lot to me, not just because I am playing against them but because they’ve been our rival for generations. It reminds me of my dad, how he always talked about it when he played for Carson back in the day and how big of a rivalry it is.”

Carson High also had 6 football players that transferred from Banning earlier in the year including senior Sultan Moala.

“It’s kind of weird for me because I was on the other side the past two years before, but for me, it’s important because Banning was my old school and since I left, people have been criticizing and saying rude remarks about me. So, it’s a way to get back at them, not by talking, but by showing them on the field and playing hard.”

In the end, Carson High swept Banning in a leading score of 55-7.

From the looks of it, Carson and Banning will continue to be rivals from here to the end of time with the Colts usually on top.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020-2023 by The CHS Trailblazer. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page