top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

To Top It Off

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

by Vivianna Ambriz // Staff Writer

Carson High School now has a new policy where you’re allowed to wear any type of hat that you please as long as it’s appropriate for school: no foul language or gang affiliated words. In the past, students were only allowed to wear hats or beanies that had the Carson logo or were related to the school.

Although CHS Principal Dr. Warren was not a part of deciding whether this policy should be accepted or not, she feels strongly about it.

“Hats traditionally have been gang affiliated. It has not been prevalent in Carson in the years that I have been here, so why have a policy that is not relevant to this generation? We still do not allow full head coverage… it’s a safety reason, and it’s an academic distraction. As long as you’re not covering your face or hiding anything, then we’re going to give you freedom of expression,” stated Dr. Warren.

Kimberly Curiel, a senior in the Academies of Education and Empowerment, feels that this new policy is a good thing for the students. Kimberly said, ”In previous years, I have not been able to wear beanies during the winter time which I felt was unfair. My beanie was was not hurting anyone, and it was helping me by preventing me from being cold. So, I am very happy this rule is now at Carson High.”

Many students felt this way. If it’s not hurting anyone, why should the rule be there?

Carson High School senior, Anthony Real, feels differently about it. He feels that hats are a huge distraction in and outside the classroom.

“I am on the baseball team, so I’ve only worn hats that are from Carson; I never wear my hat in the classroom, and I feel that with this policy, students will wear them, and it’s very distracting to the student behind them.”

Students will either take advantage or appreciate this new rule.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page