top of page
  • Writer's pictureCHS Journalism

ZT on TV

Updated: Oct 17, 2020

by Manaia Moala: Staff Writer

Carson High School’s very own junior Zonaye Tupuola recently received national exposure due to the epic performance she displayed during her rugby game.

One of her highlight plays went viral on social media and on Rugby 7’s magazine, which was later posted on Sport Center.

Off of a penalty, Tupuola received a pass from Pacifica High junior, Punipuao Skipps. Following the pass, Tupuola CRUSHED the defender in front of her to and added points onto the board.

Tupuola started playing rugby when she was 9 years old and she’s going into her 4th year of play. This was a big moment in her rugby career. Her peers are very proud of what she has achieved.

“When I saw my highlight on Sports Center I was shocked and proud of myself at the same time. I was hopeful for college scouts to see”, said Tupuola.

Tupuola’s teammate, junior Amaya Moala from Academy of Education and Empowerment said, “I was very surprised because not a lot of rugby videos make it on Sports Center. I was also very proud and happy that she made it very far.”

Zonaye’s teammates feel that she’s had a big impact on their rugby team and their enjoyment of the game. They believe that she’s a great leader and is very hard working.

Tynesa Taulua, senior from Academy of Medical Arts said, “Zonaye is younger than me by a couple months, but she’s someone I look at on the field. She always puts forth her best effort & never gives up which definitely shows in practice and every game that we play. Her impact on the team is really strong, she constantly pushes us to give it our all. All her hard work is paying off and I’m excited to see where this is going to take her.”

AEE junior Klarice Sakamoto adds, “This is going to be my 3rd year playing with Zonaye. She has impacted my rugby life only for the better. Every time I see her make a big play she motivates me to make one too. I just watch her form, technique, and her performance. She inspires me to be just like her!”

Tupuola wishes to continue her rugby career by get an athletic scholarship to play in college. Best of luck to her in the future!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page